The Countries of the World in French

One good thing about learning the countries of the world in French is that there are a lot of similarities between the French names and the English names. In many instances, even if you don’t know how to say a given country in French you can often recognize it if you are familiar with the English name (or the name in other European languages.)


Contrary to English, the vast majority of countries in French need le, la or les in front of them such as la France, le Canada, and les États-Unis. Normally learning the gender of a noun in French is difficult because there aren’t a lot of rules to go off of. However when it comes to French countries the majority of them that end in -e are feminine and the ones that don’t are masculin.

A few countries that end in -e but ARE masculine include:

le Mexique

le Belize

le Cambodge

le Zimbabwe

Le Mozambique


A few countries that DON’T end in -e, but ARE feminine include:

les Fidji

les Tonga

les Bahamas


Of course if a country starts with a vowel you just use l’, (as in l’Italie) however whether it starts with a vowel or not has no effect on its gender. There are some countries that don’t use an article at all such as Cuba, however they still technically have a gender. 

Let’s take a look at the countries of the world in French below.

Country in EnglishCountry in French
Afghanistanl'Afghanistan (m)
Albanial'Albanie (f)
Algerial'Algérie (f)
Andorral'Andorre (f)
Angolal'Angola (m)
Antigua and BarbudaAntigua-et-Barbuda (f)
Argentinal'Argentine (f)
Armenial'Arménie (f)
Australial'Australie (f)
Austrial'Autriche (f)
Azerbaijanl'Azerbaïdjan (m)
The Bahamasles Bahamas (f)
Bahrainle Bahreïn (m)
Bangladeshle Bangladesh (m)
Barbadosla Barbade (f)
Belarusla Biélorussie (f)
Belgiumla Belgique (f)
Belizele Belize (m)
Beninle Bénin (m)
Bhutanle Bhoutan (m)
Boliviala Bolivie (f)
Bosnia and Herzegovinala Bosnie-Herzégovine (f)
Botswanale Botswana (m)
Brazille Brésil (m)
Bruneile Brunei (m)
Bulgariala Bulgarie (f)
Burkina Fasole Burkina Faso / le Burkina (m)
Burundile Burundi (m)
Cambodiale Cambodge (m)
Cameroonle Cameroun (m)
Canadale Canada (m)
Cape Verdele Cap-Vert (m)
Central African Republicla République centrafricaine (f)
Chadle Tchad (m)
Chilele Chili (m)
Chinala Chine (f)
Colombiala Colombia (f)
Comorosles Comores (f)
Democratic Republic of the CongoLa République démocratique du Congo (f)
Republic of the Congola République du Congo (f) / le Congo (m)
Cook Islandsles Îles Cook (f)
Costa Ricale Costa Rica (m)
Côte d'Ivoirela Côte d'Ivoire (f)
Croatiala Croatie (f)
CubaCuba (f)
CyprusChypre (f)
Czech RepublicLa République tchèque (f)
Denmarkle Danemark
DjiboutiDjibouti (m) / la République de Djibouti (f)
Dominicala Dominique
Dominican Republicla République dominicaine (f)
East Timorle Timor oriental (m)
Ecuadorl’Équateur (m)
Egyptl'Égypte (f)
El Salvadorle Salvador (m)
Englandl'Angleterre (f)
Equatorial Guineala Guinée équatoriale (f)
Eritreal’Érythrée (f)
Estonial’Estonie (f)
EswatinieSwatini (m)
Ethiopial'Éthiopie (f)
Fijiles Fidji (f)
Finlandla Finlande (f)
Francela France (f)
French Polynesiala Polynésie française (f)
Gabonle Gabon (m)
The Gambiala Gambie (f)
Georgiala Géorgie (f)
Germanyl'Allemagne (f)
Ghanale Ghana (m)
Greecela Grèce (f)
Grenadala Grenade (f)
Guatemalale Guatemala (m)
Guineala Guinée (m)
Guinea-Bissaula Guinée-Bissao (f)
Guyanala Guyana (f)
HaitiHaïti (m)
Hondurasle Honduras (m)
Hungaryla Hongrie (f)
Icelandl'Islande (f)
Indial'Inde (f)
Indonesial'Indonésie (f)
Iranl'Iran (m)
Iraql'Irak (m)
Irelandl'Irlande (f)
IsraelIsraël (m)
Italyl'Italie (f)
Jamaicala Jamaïque (f)
Japanle Japon (m)
Jordanla Jordanie (f)
Kazakhstanle Kazakhstan (m)
Kenyale Kenya (m)
Kiribatiles Kiribati (f)
Kosovole Kosovo (m)
Kuwaitle Koweït (m)
Kyrgyzstanle Kirghizstan (m)
Laosle Laos (m)
Latviala Lettonie (f)
Lebanonle Liban (m)
Lesothole Lesotho (m)
Liberiale Libéria (m)
LibyaLa Libye (f)
Liechtensteinle Liechtenstein (m)
Lithuaniala Lituanie (f)
Luxembourgle Luxembourg (m)
MadagascarMadagascar (m)
Malawile Malawai (m)
Malaysiala Malaisie (f)
Maldivesles Maldives (f)
Malile Mali (m)
MaltaMalte (f)
Marshall Islandsles Îles Marshall (f)
Mauritaniala Mauritanie (f)
Mauritiusl'Île Maurice (f)
Mexicole Mexique (m)
Micronesiala Micronésie (f)
Moldovala Moldavie (f)
MonacoMonaco (m)
Mongoliala Mongolie (f)
Montenegrole Monténégro (m)
Moroccole Maroc (m)
Mozambiquele Mozambique (m)
Myanmarla Birmanie (f)
Namibiala Namibie (f)
Naurula Nauru (f)
Nepalle Népal (m)
Netherlandsles Pays-Bas (m)
New Zealandla Nouvelle-Zélande (f)
Nicaraguale Nicaragua (m)
NieuNioué (f)
Nigerle Niger (m)
Nigeriale Nigéria (m)
North Koreala Corée du Nord (f)
Northern Irelandl'Irlande du Nord (f)
Northern CyprusChypre du nord (f)
North Macedoniala Macédoine du Nord (f)
Norwayla Norvège (f)
Omanl'Oman (m)
Pakistanle Pakistan (m)
Palaules Palaos (f)
Palestinela Palestine (f)
Panamale Panama (m)
Papua New Guineala Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée (f)
Paraguayle Paraguay (m)
Perule Pérou (m)
Phillippinesles Philippines (f)
Polandla Pologne (f)
Portugalle Portugal (m)
Qatarle Qatar (m)
Romaniala Roumanie (f)
Russiala Russie (f)
Rwandale Rwanda (m)
Saint Kitts and NevisSaint-Christophe-et-Niévès (m)
Saint LuciaSainte-Lucie (f)
Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesSaint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines (m)
Samoale Samoa (m)
San MarinoSaint-Marin (m)
Sao Tomé and Principe Sao Tomé-et-Pricinpe (m)
Saudi Arabial'Arabie saoudite (f)
Scotlandl'Écosse (f)
Senegalle Sénégal (m)
Serbiala Serbie (f)
Seychellesles Seychelles (f)
Sierra Leonela Serra Leone (f)
SingaporeSingapour (f)
Slovakiala Slovaquie (f)
SloveniaLa Slovénie (f)
Solomon Islandsles Îles Salomon (f)
Somaliala Somalie (f)
South Africal'Afrique du Sud (f)
South Sudanle Soudan du Sud (m)
Spainl'Espagne (f)
Sri Lankale Sri Lanka (m)
Sudanle Soudan (m)
Surinamele Suriname (m)
Swedenla Suède (f)
Switzerlandla Suisse (f)
Syriala Syrie (f)
TaiwanTaïwan (m)
Tajikistanle Tadjikistan (m)
Tanzaniala Tanzanie (f)
Thailandla Thaïlande (f)
Togole Togo (m)
Tongales Tonga (f)
Trinidad and TobagoTrinité-et-Tobago (f)
Tunisiala Tunisie (f)
Turkeyla Turquie (f)
Turkmenistanle Turkménistan (m)
Tuvalules Tuvalu (f)
Ugandal'Ouganda (m)
Ukrainel'Ukraine (f)
United Arab Emiratesles Émirats arabes unis (m)
United Kingdomle Royaume-Uni (m)
United Statesles États-Unis (m)
Uruguayl'Uruguay (m)
Uzbekistanl'Ouzbékistan (m)
Vanuatule Vanuatu (m)
Vatican Cityle Vatican (m)
Venezuelale Venezuela (m)
Vietnamle Viêt Nam (m)
Yemenle Yémen (m)
Zambiala Zambie (f)
Zimbabwele Zimbabwe (m)